Quinoa has been consumed as food since ancient times. In reality it is not a grain but actually a seed that can be used like a grain. It is a source of complete protein containig all nine essential amino acids and also gluten free. This therfore makes it an excellent choice for vegans and people allergic to gluten. One can make breakfast porridge with Quinoa and also use it in salads, soups, stews and can be used instead of rice.